What Happens If You Don't Call the Police After an Accident?

 Most drivers will likely be involved in at least one small accident in their lives. Discover what happens if you don't call the police after an accident here.

 Being in a car accident is a traumatizing event. It can be overwhelming and confusing to know what to do immediately after it happens.

Logic states that the first thing you should do after you make sure everyone involved is safe is to call the police. However, if you're in one of these overwhelming situations, it can be pretty easy to lose track of what you're supposed to do.

Today, we're going to discuss what happens if you don't call the police after an accident because there can be some pretty severe consequences and punishments if you forget to do this. It doesn't matter if it's an honest mistake; when there's a lot of lost property or potential physical injury involved, the police need to be notified.

Why You Should Call the Police After An Accident

Firstly, it should be noted that the rules on this are different in most states. In Massachusetts, for instance, you're required to file an accident report with the police if the damages are over $1,000. In Alabama, though, that number is only $250.

That shouldn't discourage you from notifying the police after a car accident. In many scenarios, information can get jumbled and injuries can make themselves apparent farther down the line. To avoid complications, it's always advised to get the authorities involved, regardless of how serious you think it might be.

In situations where you should have called the police, but didn't, there can be fairly dire consequences.
 
What Happens If You Don't Call the Police After An Accident

These laws are in place so that severe injuries can be treated and insurance policies can be properly tapped into. If you neglect to notify the police to file a report when you were supposed to, you're breaking the law. If there are serious damages or injuries, this will end up resulting in fines and/or jail time.
 
Many insurance policies are particular about the time frame that you contact the police within, so make sure that you read your policy after an accident (or better yet, have an understanding of it in the event of an accident). When you leave the scene of an accident without doing your due diligence, a lot of problems could possibly crop up.

As we previously stated, injuries from car accidents often take time to manifest. If a police report isn't filed, you'll likely have to pay your own medical bills as a result. It'll also prevent the facts of the accident from getting jumbled, as is always possible when there's some distance between the event and an insurance claim or lawsuit.

A police report, aside from being legality, acts as an account of what exactly happened and who was responsible. Filing one ensures that the aftermath of the accident can be adequately dealt with.

Be Responsible and File a Report

Now that you know what happens if you don't call the police after an accident, you can make the responsible decision every time. It's always better to get the police involved so that you can proceed with all of the legal and insurance matters the right way.

Did you find this post helpful? Come back and visit us again for more on living a fulfilling and healthy life.
 
 
< Prev   Next >
 
 

Quotation

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." 

Dr. Seuss
 

Copyright 2020 AmO: Life Beauty Without Limits....